什麼是 GBIF ?

全球生物多樣性資訊機構,簡稱 GBIF,是一個由全球政府資助而成立的跨國合作網絡及研究基礎建設,成立宗旨在於提供大眾無論何時、何地均能公開且自由存取的、各種地球上的生物資料

Scarlet Macaw (Ara macao)
Scarlet Macaw (Ara macao) by Yeanina Cruz. Photo licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0.

全球生物多樣性資訊機構,簡稱 GBIF,是一個由全球政府資助而成立的跨國合作網絡及研究基礎建設,成立宗旨在於提供大眾無論何時、何地均能公開且自由存取的、各種地球上的生物資料。

位於哥本哈根的GBIF祕書處負責統整機構的運作,以參與國、合作組織作為節點(Node),各節點收集的資料以共同標準、開源格式提供給全球的資料中心,使得這些包含記錄地點、時間的生物資訊得以公開分享。這些生物資訊來源不一,有自 18 至 19 世紀時期博物館的標本典藏,到近年來業餘自然學家們發布附有地理標記的手機拍攝照片。

GBIF 以達爾文核心集(Darwin Core)標準格式彙整所有不同來源的資料,形成 GBIF.org 上億萬筆的物種出現記錄資料索引的基礎。彙整的資料在創用 CC 授權條款下,供科學家、研究人員及民眾公開自由存取,可運用於同儕審查論文發表及政策文件中,研究運用的主題涵蓋氣候變遷的衝擊、外來入侵害蟲的擴散、保育與保護區的優先順序、食品安全及人類健康等。

背景與歷史沿革

GBIF 的創立,起始於 1999 年經濟合作暨發展組織(OECD)大科學論壇中,生物多樣性資訊小組的建議報告。這份報告提出:國際間需要建立可以自由存取生物多樣性資料、資訊的機制,藉由提供可靠正確的科學證據,可為經濟、社會帶來益處並促進永續發展。

OECD 的專家小組明確地建議設立一個全球生物多樣性資訊機構,讓全球大眾能瀏覽且使用大量的生物多樣性資訊、促進科學研究、提升經濟、生活品質等社會利益、提供自然知識快速成長的基礎,同時避免重覆的勞力和花費。

2001 年,該項建議被 OECD 科學部首長們採納,參與的各國政府於合作備忘錄(MOU)簽署下正式成立 GBIF。

關於秘書處

GBIF 秘書處目前規劃為四個團隊:

  • 參與合作部門:推動組織成員間的合作、招募新合作夥伴、並增進既有成員的運作能量。
  • 資料產品部門:確保 GBIF 所提供彙整資料的品質與其科學價值。
  • 資訊部門:執行資料管理、軟體開發及 GBIF 基礎設施運作。
  • 行政事務部門:聯繫 GBIF 網絡間合作及秘書處的行政事務處理。

What is GBIF?

GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an open-data research infrastructure funded by the world’s governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere access to data about all types of life on Earth.

Scarlet Macaw (Ara macao)
Scarlet Macaw (Ara macao) by Yeanina Cruz. Photo licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0.

GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an open-data research infrastructure funded by the world’s governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere access to data about all types of life on Earth.

Coordinated through its Secretariat in Copenhagen, the GBIF network of participating countries and organizations, working through participant nodes, provides data-holding institutions around the world with common standards and open-source tools that enable them to share information about where and when species have been recorded. This knowledge derives from many sources, including everything from museum specimens collected in the 18th and 19th century to geotagged smartphone photos shared by amateur naturalists in recent days and weeks.

The GBIF network draws all these sources together through the use of the Darwin Core standard, which forms the basis of GBIF.org’s index of hundreds of millions of species occurrence records. Publishers provide open access to their datasets using machine-readable Creative Commons licence designations, allowing scientists, researchers and others to apply the data in hundreds of peer-reviewed publications and policy papers each year. Many of these analyses—which cover topics from the impacts of climate change and the spread of invasive and alien pests to priorities for conservation and protected areas, food security and human health— would not be possible without this.

Background and history

GBIF arose from a 1999 recommendation by the Biodiversity Informatics Subgroup of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development’s Megascience Forum. Its report concluded that “An international mechanism is needed to make biodiversity data and information accessible worldwide”, arguing that this mechanism could produce many economic and social benefits and enable sustainable development by providing sound scientific evidence.

The OECD panel specifically recommended the establishment of a Global Biodiversity Information Facility, to

“enable users to navigate and put to use vast quantities of biodiversity information, advancing scientific research … serving the economic and quality-of-life interests of society, and providing a basis from which our knowledge of the natural world can grow rapidly and in a manner that avoids duplication of effort and expenditure.”

That recommendation was endorsed by OECD science ministers and, in 2001, GBIF was officially established through Memorandum of Understanding between participating governments.

About the Secretariat

The GBIF Secretariat is currently organized into four teams:

  • Participation and Engagement is responsible for operating the network of Participants and publishers, recruiting new members and enhancing the capacity of current ones.
  • Data Products is responsible for the quality and scientific value of the integrated data products produced by the GBIF network.
  • Informatics is responsible for data management, software development and the overall operation of the GBIF infrastructure.
  • Administration is responsible for maintaining both the network and the Secretariat’s underlying operations and processes.