2015 Capacity Enhancement call for proposals

The GBIF Secretariat is pleased to announce that the 2015 call for proposals of the GBIF Capacity Enhancement Support Programme is now open. This programme provides co-funding to GBIF Participants in support of international collaborative projects targeting capacity enhancement and exchange.

Learn more

Ebbe Nielsen Challenge

The GBIF Secretariat has launched the inaugural GBIF Ebbe Nielsen Challenge, an open incentive competition that seeks to encourage innovative uses of the more than half a billion species occurrences and other data mobilized through and related to GBIF’s international network.

Round One submissions are due at 12 noon CET on 2 March 2015. An expert jury will judge then judge entries on their innovation, functionality and applicability to researchers, policymakers, educators, students and citizens, before selecting three to six Round Two finalists to compete for a €20,000 First Prize later in 2015.

The Challenge extends the legacy of the Ebbe Nielsen Prize established by the GBIF Governing Board to honour the memory of Dr Ebbe Schmidt Nielsen, one of the founders of GBIF and an inspirational leader in the fields of biosystematics and biodiversity informatics.

Nominations for the 2015 Young Researchers Award

The call for proposals for the 2015 GBIF Young Researchers Awards is now open. The Young Researchers Awards intend to foster innovative research and discovery in biodiversity informatics. Two awards of €4,000 are available to one master's student and one doctoral student.

Learn more about the Award and past recipients

GBIF France seeks developer

GBIF France is looking for a software engineer for the position of web developer, to work with the team based at the Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle (MNHN), Paris.

The deadline for application is 23 February 2015. More details are available on the GBIF.fr website.